Awards Recognition

2017 Royal College Teasdale-Corti Humanitarian Award

Congratulations to Rob Fowler on receiving the 2017 Royal College Teasdale-Corti Humanitarian Award. Click here to learn more about the award and his interview.

Frank Rutledge Award for Excellence in Critical Care Teaching

Call for Nominations - OPEN 

You are invited to submit a nomination  for the Dr. Frank Rutledge Award for Excellence in Critical Care Teaching. This is an important opportunity to recognise those who have made a remarkable contribution to the future leaders of critical care in Canada, and to acknowledge Canada's outstanding clinical teachers in memory of our very best teachers, Dr. Frank S. Rutledge. 

If you are a trainee in Critical Care Medicine - please consider nominating one of your clinical teachers.

If you are a member of a critical care team and know an outstanding clinical teacher, please suggest to one of the trainees that they nominate that person. 

The deadline for submissions is June 9, 2017. Click here to apply.

CIHR-ICRH/CCCS: Distinguished Lecturer Award in Critical Care Sciences 

Call for Nominations - CLOSED

The CIHR Institute of Circulatory and Respiratory Health (ICRH) and CCCS have established an annual Distinguished Lecturer in Critical Care Sciences Award in recognition of an individual's outstanding contribution to the advancement of critical care sciences in Canada.

You are invited to submit a nomination for the CIHR-ICRH/CCCS Distinguished Lecturer Award in Critical Care Sciences. The deadline for submission is March 15, 2017. Please click here for more information.

The award will be presented to the selected candidate at the 2017 Canadian Critical Care Forum (CCCF), to be held in Toronto, where the recipient will give a keynote lecture as part of the scientific program.

Please note that you are entitled to submit only one nomination form per Distinguished Lecturer Award competition. Scientists who have received an ICRH partnered Distinguished Lecturer Award previously are not eligible for nomination.


Michael Ward Award – Best Basic or Translational Science Study Award 
Award Recipient: Ustina Jung-Eun Huh, University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada
Abstract Title: The Role Of Caveolin1 In The Midkine-Mediated Pathogenesis Of Lung Fibrosis In Ards


Allan Spanier Award – Best Education Study 

Award Recipient: Diana Ulic, McMaster University, Hamilton, Canada
Abstract Title: Scholars and Collaborators on the Frontline: Resident-led

The Garner King Award – Best Clinical or Quality Improvement Study
Award Recipient: Atsushi Kawaguchi. University of Alberta
Abstract Title: Impact of High-Flow Nasal Cannula on Respiratory Distress in Pediatric Intensive Care